It’s A Trap!

True Life Email that I received today:

 

ATTN:
 
FUND TRANSER CONFIRMATION O.K FURTHER CREDIT ACCEPTED.

 
Uh oh.  My spider sense is tingling.  Internet fraud spam?  I smell Nigeria.  Perhaps Croatia.  Don’t people know that African crooks are Old and Busted, while Eastern Bloc Country crooks are the New Hotness?
 
 

Reference to our telephone discussion which I told you that We have received your contract payment approval from our ordering Customer Service in the Central Bank of Nigeria for the further credit to your bank account. With all due respect, our bank has obliged to credit your account with instruction. Quoting reference to bnp transfer regulation and in line with British Financial and Allied Conduct, your account will be effected as soon as you reconcile our 1% Cost of Transfer or you may advise us to deduct the total value and transfer the balance to your account. 

 

Let me guess.  If I send you my bank information, then I’ll be able to get a bunch of cash/credit/blood diamonds/hookers/blow?  Yeah, right.
 
Let’s read on, shall we?
 

Should you be willing to accept deduction, our bank is therefore urging you to contact the authorized CBN Paying Officer PROF.TOM.O.ADABA board member/director international remittance department, central bank of Nigeria Lagos annex office on, E-mail: tomadaba_2@yahoo.com Please ask him to issue you the Original Hard Copy of the Authority to Deduct 1% Bill of Exchange form to enable us deducts the 1% cost of transfer. Be advised also that we only acknowledge the receipt of the ORIGINAL HARD COPY OF THE BILL OF EXCHANGE FORM, which must be duly filed and signed by the beneficiary before we can effect deduction.

 
Google:  TOM.O.ADABA.  Let’s see what we get.
 
Hm.  Link to a page on Crimes of Persuasion.com, referencing Nigerian Scammer Names.  Interesting.
You know, I’ve been getting a lot more of these lately.  I’m not sure who to blame. I faithfully mark spam emails as spam, and send it to the appropriate place, yet still I get it.  I wonder how much time and money is wasted on this stuff.  I suppose that I could go to Wikipedia and find out, but, at the moment, it’s early, I’m tired, and just would rather be held.
 

Please be warned, as our bank does not trust any Nigerian Official except PROF.TOM.O.ADABA board member/director international remittance department, central bank of Nigeria Lagos annex whom we can give attention to in any of this instruction. Prior to our banking regulation, final credit shall be made to your account upon your instruction. NOTE: you’re advised to put a stop with any other impostors that you may be corresponding with for now regarding your payment and comply with this fax so that you will not continually fail prey to clique of impostors.

 
Gee, thanks for the tip.
 

Congratulations!

 
Yeah.  Well.  Just for that I’m going to forward your email to the FTC at spam@uce.gov .  Spammers.  They kill me.
 
 

Leave a comment