The Gift

Dear Mom:

This comes a bit late, because I spent most of my day with you yesterday.  However, I’m pretty confident that you’ll read this soon.

I wanted to thank you for being such a great mom.  Sure, we’ve had disagreements.  I believe that every family does.  But the truth is that you are one of the best, most intellegent, most thoughtful, and best people that I know, period.  Without you, I wouldn’t be… me.  I’d be someone else.  I’d probably be a lot darker, a lot more confused, and a little bit scarier. 

All of my friends think that you are one of the best people that they know. 

I know that you’re not perfect, and no one is, but I can definitely see the sacrifices that you made to make me who I am.

People like to hang out with my family largely because of you. 
I know that you’re not perfect, and no one is, but I can definitely see the sacrifices that you made to make me who I am.  This was your gift to my brother and I, and we know it.  In fact, we know it more than we will ever tell you.

I love you, Mom, and will always appreciate you.  I can’t say that enough.  You are my sister, my mother, my daughter’s grandmother, and my friend, and I can’t wait to see you again.

Thank you.  Happy Mother’s Day.

I couldn’t possibly be more sincere.

One response to “The Gift

  1. Nice letter! Your mother definitely deserves the praise.

Leave a Reply

