First Day Of School

Tomorrow is my baby’s first day of school.

Now, one would think that this makes me a little nervous.  One would be right.  Despite easthigh_2.jpgthe fact that my daughter has been well socialized by daycare, trips back and forth between my house, her mother’s, and her grandparents, I still find myself, today, just a bit off.  I’m not sure why.  Perhaps it’s because I know that from this moment on, teachers and other students can have as much of an impact on my daughter, or more, than I do – but honestly, I’m not sure.

However, I do know that at this moment, it’s even more important to listen, observe, teach, and parent to the best of my ability.

So, with this in mind, I will be going to school with her tomorrow, as will her mother.  Sure, it is an orientation day, but I seem to have this need to make sure that my daughter knows that I will be around for her. 

Equally, I think that it’s important for her teachers to know this as well.

Sigh.  School.

Hopefully, this is the beginning of a lot of fun for both of us.  And if you have children out there, I wish them and you well.  Summer is over.  Hello, school!  Wish me luck, and if you have any intelligent nuggets of education information out there, feel free to share.

One response to “First Day Of School

  1. Don’t feel bad. I went to the first day of school for all four of my children. You’re doing the right thing.
    If you want to be there for your baby, don’t worry about what anybody else thinks. Good luck tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

