Religion And Divorce

One of the ways that I absolutely knew that I was going to run into problems with my ex was with her religious views.

Over the years, it’s become more and more evident that religion is an ENORMOUS relationship bugaboo, especially since I tend to be vaguely suspicious of what I perceived as overly religious people due to:

1. Personal experience,

2. Education on the transgressions of self-described religious people,

3. The hideous war crimes committed by religious organizations in the name of God, and

4. The rise of televangelism.

Even so, I have nothing against religion in general and consider spirituality a good thing overall.

That said, I remember when my exes’ mother was staying in my house and we somehow got into a discussion on evolution. I asked her what she thought, and with some level of anger, she mentioned, “Well, we didn’t come from monkeys!”

I somehow resisted the urge to suggest that we came from space aliens instead, and made a mental note to watch Grace’s mother. Carefully. And I knew that religion would be one more nail in the coffin of our strained relationship.

Now, my ex goes to church between 4 and 7 times a week, and my daughter attends a religious school.

Just because one goes to church a lot doesn’t mean that they are a good person. The road to divorce can be paved with religious beliefs along with other good intentions. Take it from me, you and yours had better either be very open to different belief systems or in strong agreement.

5 responses to “Religion And Divorce

  1. Awesome post. You summed up my feelings on religion exactly – my favorite thought “religion kills.” Let’s just hope Romney or Huckabee don’t get elected.

    Thanks for the sweet posts, as a single mom it’s wonderful to hear that there are good, solid single dads out there as well.

  2. Thanks a lot for your comment. As a matter of fact, I enjoy your site quite a bit as well.

    It’s pretty tough to be a single parent, mom or dad, custodial or otherwise, shared or not. I just try to do my part – which is one of the reasons that I started this blog in the first place. Thanks for hanging out!

  3. Sacrificing time and/or money for the benefit of others is far more worthwhile than worshipping a deity who doesn’t need the praise. If God is perfect why would s/he need to be reminded? I believe that a supreme being would rather see our time better spent helping others. This is why I wouldn’t have the patience to attend church to pacify my S.O.

  4. I’m in total agreement with you. Not to offend anyone that is religious, but I just don’t trust the over the top, at the church everytime the doors open religious person.

    I remember my brother in law asking me one day if I went to church. I responded that I was not a religious person. He went on to say, “We aren’t religious either we just love the lord!” This same man would later spend 8 years in prison for shooting a man in the face during a drunken bar fight…

  5. It looks like all the comments have come from non-religious people who had a religious spouse. Well, nothing in this life is guaranteed. My ex-spouse and I started out in the same religion. The problem arose when our religion crossed one of my red lines. They started refering to Jesus and the Holy Spirit as god, which to me was idolatry. That religious difference eventually brought the marriage to an end because my ex-wife couldn’t reconcile herself to 2 religions in one household

Leave a Reply

