An Exercise

I was reminded recently that an excellent exercise for both the newly or not-so-newly divorced that I find useful is to actually list out what it is that you are thankful for.  Why?

Well, giving thanks for what you have is a great reminder for what great things you have and for the great things that you have yet to do.  Everyone needs a refresher every once in a while.

With that in mind, here is my list:

I’m thankful that I have a wonderful family, with parents, aunts, uncles, nieces, and cousins all in town within a short distance.

I’m thankful for the fact that my daughter is growing up to be a wonderful little girl.

I’m thankful that I love to cook and can afford to buy some of the good stuff.

I’m thankful that I live in such a wonderful apartment in such a great part of town.

I’m thankful for the view from the living room balcony.

I’m thankful that I at least try to quit smoking, and especially thankful that: 1.  My daughter has never seen me smoke, and 2.  This time, it may take.

I’m thankful for my health insurance.

I’m thankful that I have pets (parrots).

I’m thankful that I have enough space in my apartment that my daughter can have her own room.

I’m thankful that I’m not the only one in my neighborhood that recycles.  So many people are doing it that the recycling bins are continually full.

I’m thankful for this and countless other things.

What are you thankful for?

4 responses to “An Exercise

  1. Yay! What a great post. I’m thankful that I’m not married to my ex anymore…ha! Not sure if that counts. Because it’s bittersweet.

    I’m just thankful to be able to financially support my son on my own. I am so lucky…had it rough the first year but landed a fantastic job and everything has turned around.

  2. Pingback: An Exercise « Single Dads « Dads’ Web Galley

  3. awww that was good…. and just what i needed to read on a day like today!

  4. Is mssinglemama still available?

Leave a Reply

