One Thing Can Improve Your Co-Parenting Life… And I Have Evidence

A while ago, I wrote a post called A Fact And Forgiveness where I basically said that forgiveness is the key to being in a relationship with your children and your ex, and that accepting your ex as part of your family would eventually make your situation much better.

Well, I have a secret.

I didn’t know that for sure.

Sure, I can talk a good game, but in all honesty, I didn’t know for a fact that forgiveness was the key.  After all, I was in a situation where things were relatively contentious between myself and my daughter’s mother; we would argue or wouldn’t speak at all, and the relationship was strained, to say the least.

So.  It’s would great pleasure that I tell you that I was actually correct.  Tomorrow, with the blessing of the State of Colorado and Grace’s mother, my daughter will be having an extended, meaning weekend, stay over at my apartment.  I would jump for joy, but my legs are a bit sore from an rigorous workout today (ouch).

Sure, I’m quite sure that working hard, paying child support, providing health care, and participating in school events had something to do with it too.  But in the end, my head had to change – and once that it did, everything else fell into place.  And there it is – in the end, I did what needed to be done.

Forgiveness works, people.  Fight when (and if) you have to, but seriously, as the phrase goes, you catch more bees with honey than vinegar.

One response to “One Thing Can Improve Your Co-Parenting Life… And I Have Evidence

  1. let me ask you a serious question, because I started my blog, when my pastor told me I need to forgive the Ex and his wife, the Dingo.

    I haven’t done it yet. I can’t find it in my heart to. How do you do it. you can say the words all you want, but they are nothing if you don’t mean it…and I don’t mean it…. I want to…but I can’t find in me how.

Leave a comment